University Structure
Home About SSSIHL  University Structure
Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning (Deemed to be University) is an independent and self-governing institution. It was established by the Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning (Public Charitable Trust), which in turn has been established by the Sri Sathya Sai Central Trust. Bhagawan Sri Sathya Sai Baba is the founder of these Trusts.

The Trust

The Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning (Public Charitable Trust) was founded to foster the culture of India and promote in the students and teachers an awareness and understanding of the social needs of the country; with special focus to the needs of the rural population. It is aimed to inculcate in students a world perspective - an international outlook imbibing human values along with a spiritual and secular education. Its current members are:
  • Justice A P Misra, Former Judge, Supreme Court of India
  • Sri T K K Bhagwat, Member, Sri Sathya Sai Central Trust
  • Sri S S Naganand, Member, Sri Sathya Sai Central Trust
  • Sri R J Rathnakar, Member, Sri Sathya Sai Central Trust
  • Prof. S P Thyagarajan, Former Vice-Chancellor, University of Madras

The Principal Bodies

The administrative and academic functioning of the university is carried out by the following two principal bodies:
  1. The Board of Management
  2. The Academic Council
The Board of Management is the principal authority of the university, responsible for its general management and administration. Its current members are:
  • Prof. (Dr.) C B Sanjeevi, Vice-Chancellor, SSSIHL (Chairman)
  • Sri S S Naganand, Member, Sri Sathya Sai Central Trust Nominee, SSSIHL (Public Charitable Trust)
  • Dr. (Ms.) Renu Swarup, Secretary, Dept. of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science & Technology, Govt. of India
  • Dr. Sandip Chatterjee, Officer on Special Duty/Scientist F, Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology, Govt. of India
  • Dr. (Mrs.) Pratishtha Pandey, Scientist F, Department of Science and Technology, New Delhi
  • Prof. G Nageswara Rao, Dean, Faculty of Sciences, SSSIHL
  • Prof. R Prabhakara Rao, Dean, Faculty of Economics & Humanities, SSSIHL
  • Dr. C N Sundaresan, Head, Dept. of Chemistry, SSSIHL
  • Dr. (Mrs.) M Praphulla, Associate Professor, Telugu Language & Literature, SSSIHL
  • Prof. B Sai Giridhar, Registrar, SSSIHL (Member Secretary)
The Academic Council is the principal academic body of the university. It has general control over and is responsible for the maintenance of standards of teaching, research and training, approval of syllabus, coordination of research activities, and examinations and tests within the university. Its current external members are:
  • Prof. V Nagaraja, Dept. of Microbiology and Cell Biology, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
  • Prof. S Ramasesha, Solid State and Structural Chemistry Unit, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
  • Prof. V Nagadevara, Former Professor and Dean, Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore
  • Dr. Kamini Walia, Scientist F, Indian Council of Medical Research, New Delhi
  • Dr. Anil Dutt Semwal, Scientist G, Director, Defence Food Research Laboratory, Ministry of Defence, Mysore
  • Prof. Ratnamala Chatterjee, Dept. of Physics, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi
  • Dr. Krishna Kanth Pulicherla, Scientist D, Department of Science and Technology, New Delhi

Important Committees

In addition to the principal bodies that govern the university, there are various committees that have been set up to ensure that academics and administration are in accordance with the high standards that SSSIHL has striven to consistently maintain. Some of these committees include:

  • The Boards of Studies
  • The Finance Committee
  • Planning and Monitoring Board
  • Research Advisory Board
  • Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC)
  • Institutional Ethics Committee
  • Institutional Biosafety Committee
  • Research Conferments Cell
  • Building and Works Committee
  • Campus-Hostel Management Committee

Mandatory/Essential Committees

  • Anti-Ragging Committee
  • Anti-Discrimination Cell
  • Committees for SC/ST
  • Internal Complaints Committee
  • Intellectual Property Rights Cell and Innovation Cell
  • Social Media Cell
  • Student Counsellor
  • Internal Committee for students with disabilities
Universities should not compete in the number of students admitted and the fees and donations collected. Quality, not quantity should be the goal. A smaller number ensures greater individual attention, more intense discipline, better teaching and better understanding.
Sri Sathya Sai Baba
© Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning, Vidyagiri, Prasanthi Nilayam - 515 134, India.